Pontefract Road, Castleford, West Yorkshire, WF10 4JB, admin@sjc.bkcat.co.uk

Tel: 01977 555780


The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum outlines the programmes of study in maintained/state primary and secondary schools in  England.  It sets out what children should learn in Key Stages 1 and 2.


The content within the National Curriculum

The National Curriculum identifies what to teach but not how to teach.  In primary schools, it consists of eleven subject areas and Religious Education.  English, Maths and Science are the three core subject areas, with detailed programmes of study. As a Catholic school, we consider the teaching of RE to be a core subject area too.


National Curriculum 2014

From September 2014, it was compulsory for children in Years 1, 3, 4 & 5 to follow the 'new National Curriculum'.  As of September 2015, all year groups, Years 1 - 6, will follow the new National Curriculum, as will the government testing, which will be modified against the new expectations.

 St. Joseph's Curriculum Framework


As a school, we have designed our curriculum alongside a local authority document called 'Key Aspects of the National Curriculum', as well as Chris Quigley's 'Essentials' and Focus Educations Curriculum.

These documents are tools designed to assist schools in building a creative and connected curriculum. It supports schools to develop exciting topics, which are interconnected, with various subjects purposefully woven within one another.

Each of the subjects are broken down within the documents, to ensure coverage of statutory requirements.